STING: Polar Music Prize Winner

Sting and jazz great Wayne Shorter are this year's Polar Music Prize Laureates.

The Swedish honor recognizes exceptional achievements in the creation and advancement of music. Sting says, "I still maintain a childlike curiosity about music, along with a sense that I constantly need to work at it. So to be recognized in this way is truly meaningful. I am looking forward to coming to Sweden for this special evening.”

Sting and Shorter will accept their prizes from King Carl the 16th Gustaf of Sweden at the Stockholm Concert Hall on June 15th.

The Polar Music Prize was founded in 1989 by late Abba manager and music publisher Stig Anderson. Previous winners include Elton John, Bob Dylan, Led Zeppelin, Pink Floyd, Peter Gabriel, Stevie Wonder, Paul Simon, B.B. King, Paul McCartney and Bruce Springsteen.

    Sting will be honored with the Polar Music Prize on June 15th in Sweden. 

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content